Photo taken by CardMapr on unsplash

Netflix Stopping Password Sharing

Netflix is cracking down on users sharing their passwords. Account-holders have been sharing their passwords with family and friends for many years. Unless you are in the same household as the account holder, Netflix wants people to have their own account. When you log into your account, a pop-up will appear on the screen and a verification code will be sent to the account holder’s e-mail.

 

“Yeah, my friend called me and asking for a pin number. I didn’t know what she was talking about. So I checked my e-mail and saw an e-mail from Netflix,” said an account holder who wanted to stay anonymous. 

 

The New York Times reported Netflix wants those who are using their streaming services are authorized to do so. The company said the feature was being tested with a limited number of users. It may signal a broader clampdown on the common practice of sharing passwords among relatives and friends to avoid paying for the popular streaming service.

A basic Netflix subscription, which allows customers to watch on one screen at a time, costs $8.99 a month. Customers who pay more can watch on additional screens concurrently.

Industry news site The Stremable reported that Netflix declined to discuss its new feature in detail butut industry analysts said it might be part of an effort to enforce Netflix’s terms of use, which is often overlooked. The terms of use state that its service and content “are for your personal and noncommercial use only and may not be shared with individuals beyond your household.”

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.