Team USA Basketball name 44 finalists for 2020 Summer Olympic team

With the 2020 Summer Olympics set to start July 24th, Team USA Basketball has announced its list of 44 finalists to represent the team in Tokyo, Japan.

Here is a breakdown of the finalists for the 2020 Team USA Olympic Basketball team:

2016 Team USA Summer Olympic members: Sacramento Kings forward Harrison Barnes, Miami Heat guard Jimmy Butler, San Antonio Spurs guard DeMar DeRozan, Brooklyn Nets forward Kevin Durant (also a member of the 2016 Olympic team, Los Angeles Clippers forward Paul George, Golden State Warriors forward Draymond Green, Brooklyn Nets Kyrie Irving, Toronto Raptors guard Kyle Lowry and Golden State guard Klay Thompson.

2012 Team USA Summer Olympic members: Los Angeles Lakers forward Anthony Davis, Houston Rockets James Harden, Los Angeles Lakers forward LeBron James (also a member of the 2008 Olympic team), Cleveland Cavaliers forward Kevin Love, Oklahoma City Thunder guard Chris Paul (also a member of the 2008 Olympic team) and Houston Rockets guard Russell Westbrook.

2008 Team USA Summer Olympic members: Los Angeles Lakers center Dwight Howard.

Non Former Olympic Team members: Golden State Warriors guard Stephen Curry, Cleveland Cavaliers center Andre Drummond and Denver Nuggets center Mason Plumlee, Miami Heat center Bam Adebayo, San Antonio Spurs forward LaMarcus Aldridge, Washington Wizards guard Bradley Beal, Phoenix Suns guard Devin Booker, Indiana Pacers guard Malcolm Brogdon, Boston Celtics guard Jaylen Brown, Utah Jazz guard Mike Conley, Los Angeles Clippers forward Montrezl Harrell, Brooklyn Nets guard Joe Harris, Philadelphia 76ers forward Tobias Harris, Boston Celtics forward Gordon Hayward, New Orleans Pelicans forward Brandon Ingram, Los Angeles Lakers forward Kyle Kuzma, Los Angeles Clippers forward Kawhi Leonard, Portland Trail Blazers guard Damian Lillard, Milwaukee Bucks center Brook Lopez, Los Angeles Lakers center JaVale McGee, Milwaukee Bucks guard Khris Middleton, Utah Jazz guard Donovan Mitchell, Indiana Pacers guard Victor Oladipo, Boston Celtics guard Marcus Smart, Boston Celtics forward Jayson Tatum, Indiana Pacers center Myles Turner, Boston Celtics guard Kemba Walker and San Antonio Spurs guard Derrick White.

Team USA has the daunting task of choosing 12 players out of these 44 players to make the final roster. Since 1992, when pro basketball players were first allowed to play in the Olympics, team USA has won six out of seven gold medals and have won 25 straight Olympic games.

This will be the first Olympic games with longtime San Antonio Spurs head coach Gregg Popovich serving as head coach for the Team USA basketball team.

About Jarrett Hoffman

Spring '19 graduate of Bowie State University with a B.S. in Broadcast Journalism @LilShortCuz on Instagram and Twitter

View all posts by Jarrett Hoffman

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.