Connect with us


Maryland Teacher of the Year has seven finalists



The Maryland Teacher of the Year award, the top honor for educators in the state, is up for grabs with seven teachers.

The finalists were most recently revealed by the Maryland State Department of Education.

They include the following teachers:

  • Charles Whittaker of Anne Arundel County Public Schools;
  • Berol Dewdney of Baltimore City Public Schools;
  • Alicia Amaral Freeman of Baltimore County Public Schools;
  • Jonathan Kurtz of Frederick County Public Schools;
  • Ashley Gereli of Harford County Public Schools;
  • Elizabeth McDonald of Washington County Public Schools;
  • Rebecca Mathews of Wicomico County Public Schools.

“Congratulations to each of the 24 local Teachers of the Year who work hard each day to help us ensure that every Maryland child has access to a world-class education,”  – Maryland Governor Larry Hogan

Ashton Horne is an upcoming writer who currently resides in Harford County. He currently interns for TheDMVDaily as a journalist.